The Book Club Discusses “A Gentleman in Moscow” by Amor Towles

Join host David Hartmann and fellow Columbia alumni as the book club discusses A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles; a selection by book club member Georgia Fountoulakis. “Beyond the door of the luxurious ­Hotel Metropol lies Theater Square and the rest of Moscow, and beyond its city limits the tumultuous landscape of 20th-century Russia. The year 1922 is a good starting point for a Russian epic, but for the purposes of his sly and winning second ­novel Amor Towles forgoes descriptions of icy roads and wintry dachas and instead retreats into the warm hotel lobby. The Metropol, with its customs and routines, is a world unto itself. Towles’s novel spans a number of difficult decades, but no Bolshevik, Stalinist or bureaucrat can dampen the Metropol’s life; World War II only briefly forces a pause. Towles is a craftsman and he chooses themes that run deeper than mere sociopolitical commentary: parental duty, friendship, romance, the call of home.” - Craig Taylor,

Date: Wednesday, July 17, 2024

Times: 6:30PM Central, 7:30PM Eastern, 4:30PM Pacific (12:30AM in London on May 24

Location: Zoom Video Conference

Cost: Free

 

WHEN
July 17, 2024 at 6:30pm - 8:30pm
WHERE

Zoom Video Conference

Chicago, IL
United States
CONTACT

David Hartmann

26 RSVPS

Will you come?