The Book Club Discusses “Lawrence and the Arabs” by Robert Graves

Join host David Hartmann and fellow Columbia alumni as the book club discusses his selection Lawrence and the Arabs by Robert Graves. First published in 1927, Robert Graves’s biography remains a unique study of T. E. Lawrence. Beginning his life-long affair with the Middle East, T. E. Lawrence—Lawrence of Arabia—made his first journey to the region, a four-month walking tour of Syria studying the Crusaders’ castles, while still a student at Oxford. He later returned to the area as an archeologist and at the outbreak of World War I was attached to British army intelligence in Egypt. Lawrence in 1916 set out on his greatest adventure. With no backing, he joined Arab forces facing almost insurmountable odds in a rebellion against Turkish domination. His brilliance as a desert war strategist made him a hero among the Arabs, a legendary figure throughout the world, and earned him the moniker Lawrence of Arabia.

Date: Thursday, June 20, 2024

Times: 6:30PM Central, 7:30PM Eastern, 4:30PM Pacific (12:30AM in London on May 24

Location: Zoom Video Conference

Cost: Free

WHEN
June 20, 2024 at 6:30pm - 8:30pm
WHERE

Zoom Video Conference

Chicago, IL
United States
CONTACT

David Hartmann

16 RSVPS

Will you come?