The Book Club Discusses “Stay True” by Hua Hsu

Join host Chris Stacey and fellow Columbia alumni as the book club discusses Stay True by Hua Hsu; a selection by book club member Patrick Murray. “What does it mean to truly be yourself?” asks Hua Hsu in his searing memoir of friendship that won a Pulitzer Prize. Slim and unsentimental, the memoir poses other unanswerable questions: what does it mean to represent another person on the page? How do we write about the dead without resorting to eulogy, which is so often “the speaker burnishing his emotional credentials rather than offering a true account of the deceased”? Will the dead person “one day be replaced by the character you invented in tribute?” Ultimately, Stay True is an act of gift-giving and reciprocity…a work of intellect, honesty and love.” - Dina Nayeri

Date: Thursday, May 23, 2024

Times: 6:30PM Central, 7:30PM Eastern, 4:30PM Pacific (12:30AM in London on May 24)

Location: Zoom Video Conference

Cost: Free

WHEN
May 23, 2024 at 6:30pm - 8:30pm
WHERE

Zoom Video Conference

Chicago, IL
United States
CONTACT

Chris Stacey

32 RSVPS

Will you come?