The Pullman Question. History of Chicago.

"A Birds-Eye View of Pullman," Circa. 1919.

George Pullman, owner of the Pullman Palace Car Company, was disturbed by the violence of the 1877 strikes at Chicago and created a “model town” to illustrate how capitalists and workers could achieve industrial peace.  Join Chris Stacey as we try and answer “The Pullman Question” – did the town meet the expectations of workers, George Pullman, and reformers such as Jane Addams? We’ll examine the economic, social, cultural, and political consequences of Pullman’s factory town. This presentation covers:

  • The Battle of Chicago: 1877
  • Aftermath of The Battle of Chicago: 1877-1894
  • A Biography of George Pullman: 1857-1897
  • Creating the Town of Pullman: 1880-1881
  • The Town of Pullman Celebrated: 1880s
  • Life in Pullman: 1880s-Early 1890s
  • Pullman’s Critics: 1880s-Early 1890s
  • Pullman’s Legacy: 1894-Present

Date: Wednesday, September 18, 2024

Time: 6:30PM Central, 7:30PM Eastern, 4:30PM Pacific and on Thursday, September 19 at 12:30am London time.

Location: Zoom Video Conference

Cost: Free

WHEN
September 18, 2024 at 6:30pm - 8:30pm
WHERE

Zoom Video Conference

Chicago, IL
United States
CONTACT

Chris Stacey

97 RSVPS

Will you come?